talatyaq

Bringing you regular rage against the patriarchy, drenched in sarcasm and capslocks #FEMINISTFRIDAY

2012: The Greatest Hits

It’s been almost a year to the day I started blogging. I know, for you it feels longer. It started as a general anger at the ‘women of 2011’ article that included a panda and then became a place for me to discuss other feminist issues that rattled my cage and the feminist conversations I am having with my niece. From then on, it has continued and I am actually a bit proud that I’ve managed to keep it going. Also, surprised that you’re still reading. To be honest, the more I think about it, this is all just an ego trip for me to ‘refresh’ the stats page to see how many people are reading and find a cheaper alternative to counselling or anger management classes. Thanks for making those dreams come true.

So what’s 2012 been like to blog? It’s been frustratingly, painfully, gob-smackingly, phenomenally…inspiring. Yeah, lots to untangle there.

The frustrating/painful bits:

…And someone told me we had equality. Shut it.

The inspiring bit:

So whilst sexism is still (unfortunately) alive, we will overcome it, because despite what they tell you, Feminism isn’t dead. 

BRING ON A FEMINISM FILLED YEAR AHEAD.

I’ll see you in 2013. Bring your placard. 

P.S There will be frustrating or inspiring bits of 2012 that I’ve missed out (you see, the frustrating bits were getting me really very depressed) but comment below or email/tweet me and I will add them! Ta!

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “2012: The Greatest Hits

  1. annanotbob on said:

    For me, as an old, depressed feminist, you have been brilliant. It is so good to know that the battle is still being fought. Happy New Year to you and yours, Anna xx

  2. mitch8061 on said:

    Definitely worth reading, .. always encouraging and yes, like annanotbob says, good to know the battle is still being fought even if we feel like there is still little progress being made in terms of how women are still being viewed and treated.

  3. Tony Britten on said:

    Interesting Blog.
    I hope and pray that 2013 may see a growing awareness of the injustices, discrimination and sexual objectification (if there is such a word) of women and that there may be more respect.
    Tony

  4. I LOVE reading angry feminist rants. I get depressed about the state of it all sometimes, and often feel like forty years of my life have passed and I’m having the same discussions within my male and female peer group that I had twenty years ago – and I never thought my peers would carry on the same ideas. Feminism matters. There’s still work to do, and your blog is a great part of it. Thanks, Talat.

  5. Thank you for all your comments – glad you like it, please feel free to pass onto others.

Leave a Reply

